Kenya: Laboso elected National Assembly Deputy Speaker

Nairobi, Kenya: National Assembly this evening elected Joyce Laboso its Deputy Speaker beating  Abdi Kadir Aden of Orange Democratic Movement ( ODM).

Joyce Laboso

Dr Joyce Laboso

Laboso is a second time member of parliament representing Sotik Constituency on William Ruto’s United Republic Party ticket. She managed to get 254 votes to the position. Aden garnerd 90.

Reportedly, Laboso was the only woman MP to have shown interest in the position. She served in the speaker’s panel in the last parliament.

The National Assembly has also elected Justin Muturi of Uhuru Kenyatta’s Jubilee Coalition as speaker taking over from Kenneth Marende who contested the seat.

Muturi garnered 219 votes beating his rival in CORD, Kenneth Marende who managed 129 in second round of voting.

The house went into second round since the winner had not attained two thirds majority; Muturi got 202 votes against Marende’s 144. There were two spoilt viotes from the first round.

The election for speaker of 11th parliament kicked off after the swearing in of Members of Parliament Thursday Morning.